Zinedine, Zis is Beyond Your Comprehension

… Ze funniest thing is that zey all believed it. That I did not see ze incident. “Just Arsene being Arsene,” ze newspapers read. Zey thought it was all just another football manager posturing to save face.

What zey did not – could not – know, is that I see everything. I’ve seen a million timelines spinning as one. Every beat of a butterfly’s wings. Every variation of every move conducted on a pitch. I kept Aaron Hughes in my squad to serve as herald, announcing deaths with the ripple of the net.

Jose knew. He called me Voyeur and you all laughed, but he heeded my warnings when the time was right. Zidane knew. He only offered token resistance in midfield this weekend, but there wasn’t much else he could do. No matter which way he defended, I would have been past him. It’s the way the timeline needed to proceed. For the good of all of us.

Leave a comment