The Halftime Pint: Greenport Harbor Black Duck Porter

20120423-091738.jpgOne of the greater things about watching football in America is that most matches, especially those of the EPL, are early in the morning American time, giving people an excuse to day drink. This is part of our series discussing exactly what to drink when you’re at the pub, presented by our resident homebrewer, Keith.

The Beer: Black Duck Porter, Greenport Harbor Brewing Co., Greenport, New York

The Pub: Smithfield, 28th Street and 7th Avenue, New York, New York

What you need to know: I covered the history of both American and British porters in previous posts; Black Duck fits more into the English category. Greenport Harbor Brewing Co. is new to the game- they founded their company in an old firehouse in 2008, and shipped their first brews in the Summer of 2009.

So, about this beer: Pours deep black with ruby highlights, and a pillowy beige head that quickly dissipates. Roasty, oaty aromas greet you as you lift the glass. Initial toasty malt flavors fade nicely to a rounded chocolate, with only the faintest hint of hop bitterness grounding the beer.

The Verdict: This is a quite excellent porter. Similar to DC Brau’s Penn Quarter Porter, it really allows the roasted malts to shine. The hop flavor is fainter than the DC Brau version, so if you’re looking for a pure, unadulterated “pint of cocoa” in your session, go with this (then again, neither brewery distributes outside of their immediate metropolitan area as of yet, so you’re unlikely to see them both at the same bar).

8 responses to “The Halftime Pint: Greenport Harbor Black Duck Porter

  1. Tell me more about good beer on the coasts that is thousands of miles away from me, please. I feel like writing about local and regional beers (or making some up) to make yall coast-dwellers Jealous.

  2. sorry, man. I write what I drink. Though I have had the Little Rock Presidential Porter at a fest, and I remember it being quite good.

  3. @Keith- Thanks for the feature. Always good to hear of new brews.
    @Arkie- In the last year, Free State Brewing (Lawrence, KS) has begun bottling and distributing their brews. The Ad Astra Ale and Copperhead IPA are both pretty solid. Also, if you’re in Arkansas, I’m assuming you’re familiar with Boulevard (Kansas City, 11th largest craft brewer in US) and Schlafly (St. Louis). Both have some really great beers. Schlafly’s Pale Ale is their best work, IMO. Boulevard has a high-ABV, 750mL-bottle line called Smokestack that is distributed virtually nationwide. From that line, the Sixth Glass and Tank 7 Farmhouse Ale are really stellar. From their regular line, the Unfiltered Wheat is basically the official summer drink of all of Kansas City. They also do a very nice Pale Ale, and their seasonal Irish Ale & Nutcracker Ale are also good. Let us all know if there’s Ark.-based brews that are also good.

  4. @Gunner: Glad to do it. Schlafly gets a lot of distribution in DC; I’d argue that their Biere de Garde is their finest. I think I may have seen Copperhead once before, but no other Free State offerings around here.

  5. I didn’t even know that Schafley was regional, and ya, other than their IPAs (not my style), I’ve never had a Boulevard I wouldn’t drink. I believe Schafley had some sort of Chocolate ale that was brewed with cacao that was excellent but they only did a very limited number. Diamond Bear is an Arkansas brewer worth trying with numerous styles that I haven’t had the chance to try yet. Liked their Irish Red and they had a rather hoppy wheat called Southern Blonde that would be a great summer beer for those who love hoppy-ness. There’s also a local brewer here in Fayetteville called Hog Haus that only provides for it’s restaurant/bar that is awesome. They have a great amber brew, a blueberry style that is good for day drinking if you are in a crowd that isn’t too macho, and a good stout. I ust moved to Fayetteville and evidently theres another local brewer already in production and one down the road from me that will have it’s own beer in a few weeks. They also give ya half off your first if you don’t drive there and Monday is free bacon happy hour so I think it could become my bar of choice. Basically, I need to make more money to become the beer snob I aspire to be.

    The point I was making is that these articles are cool and informative for me as a relative novice (I’m only 23 so I think that’s excusable) I ust wish I could try some of these that sound good. Keep up the good work!

  6. @Keith – Haven’t had the Schlafly Biere de Garde; I’ll have to look for that. Boulevard’s website doesn’t show distribution in DC yet (hopefully it’s coming soon). They are in Boston though, so I’ll be able to get my KC brew fix after the move!
    @Arkie – Not sure if Schlafly did a Chocolate beer, but I know that Boulevard has done a Chocolate ALE in the Smokestack Series the last two Valentines Days. The buzz and demand have been super intense as it’s basically only been distributed in KC, is only available on pre-order from liquor stores, and has sold out within 3 hours of release both times. They collaborated with KC-Chocolatier Christopher Elbow. It’s very good stuff and intriguing to blennd the cocoa nibs with an ale instead of a stout. Not sure if they’ll do it again next year or not.

  7. You’re completely right, it was Boulevard. I worked at a bar in Springfield a year+ ago and they were the only bar in town that had it, something the owner was quiet proud of. The dude had worked in liquor distribution for a very long time maybe that’s how he was able to weasel a keg away from the KC area. Was a shift drink until the one keg ran out. I always take Boulevard for granted, but I really like their beer. You guys get Lienenkugel on the coasts? That’s another bigger regional brewer out of Wisconsin that has some good beer. In my opinion, their summer shandy (brewed with lemonade) is one of the best day drinking + fishing or floating beers out there. I really liked their 1884 (might be another date) bock. Was easier to get in Missouri, but I’ve seen it in a couple liquor stores here, no bars yet.

Leave a Reply

